Previous Topic: Application RestoreNext Topic: Application Restore - MS SQL Server


Application Restore - MS Exchange Server

CA ARCserve D2D allows you to not only protect and recover your data, but also helps you to get the Microsoft Exchange Server application that uses that data back up and running. The Microsoft Exchange Server recovery can only be made using the Restore by Recovery Point method.

Video

CA Support:

How to: Restore MS Exchange Application

YouTube:

How to: Restore MS Exchange Application

CA ARCserve D2D supports the following versions of Microsoft Exchange Server:

Microsoft Exchange Server can be restored at the following levels:

Microsoft Exchange Writer Level

If you want to restore all the Microsoft Exchange Server data, you can perform a restore at Microsoft Exchange Writer level.

Storage Group Level

If you want to restore a specific Storage Group, you can perform a restore at the Microsoft Exchange Storage Group level.

(Does not apply for Microsoft Exchange Server 2010).

Mailbox Store Level (Exchange 2003)

If you want to restore a specific Mailbox Store, you can perform a restore at the Mailbox Store level.

Mailbox Database Level (Exchange 2007 and 2010)

If you want to restore a specific Mailbox Database, you can perform a restore at the Mailbox Database level.

Restore Microsoft Exchange Server Application

Note: When performing a Microsoft Exchange Server database restore (to either the original location or a recovery storage group/recovery database), you must verify that the account also has the following administrative privileges:

  1. From the CA ARCserve D2D home page (or CA ARCserve D2D Monitor), select Restore.

    The restore methods selection dialog opens.

  2. Click the Browse Recovery Points option.

    The Browse Recovery Points dialog opens.

  3. Select the recovery point (date and time) and then select the Microsoft Exchange database to be restored.

    The corresponding marker box becomes filled (green) to indicate that the database has been selected for the restore.

    Note: If you do not want the transaction log files to be applied after the restore, you must manually delete it before the restore is performed. For more information about manually deleting transaction log files, refer to the Microsoft Exchange Server documentation.

    Application Recovery - Exchange 2

  4. Click Next.

    The Restore Options dialog opens.

    Application Recovery - Exchange 3

  5. Select the destination for the restore.

    The available options are to restore to the original location of the backup, restore the dump file only, or restore to a Recovery Storage Group/Recovery Mailbox Database.

    Restore to original location

    Restores to the original location from where the backup image was captured.

    Dump file only

    Restores the dump files only.

    For this option, CA ARCserve D2D will restore the Microsoft Exchange database file to a specified folder, and will not bring it online after recovery. You can then move this file to a different server and mount it to exchange server manually to view data contained in it.

    Note: When a Recovery Mailbox Database exists, restore with ‘Dump file only’ option will fail.

    Replay log on database

    Specifies that when the database files are dumped to the destination folder, you can replay and apply all Microsoft Exchange transaction log files and commit them to the database file. When the database next starts, and transaction log files that were not yet written to the database files are then applied before the database is again made available to you.

    Note: This option is not applicable for Microsoft Exchange Server 2003

    Restore to Recovery Storage Group (Exchange 2007)

    Restores the database to a Recovery Storage Group (RSG).

    An RSG is a storage group that can be used for recovery purposes. You can restore a Microsoft Exchange Mailbox Database from a backup in a Recovery Storage Group and then recover and extract data from it, without affecting the production database that is being accessed by end users.

    • If single storage group or database (except a public folder database) from the same storage group are selected to restore, the default restore destination is "Restore to Recovery Storage Group" (or "Restore to Recovery Database").
    • If multiple storage groups or databases from multiple storage groups are selected to restore, Exchange can only be restored to the original location or restore with "Dump file only" option. The default restore destination is "Restore to original location".

    Before restoring an Exchange 2007 database to a Recovery Storage Group, you must create a Recovery Storage Group and Mailbox Database with the same name.

    For example, if you want to restore MailboxDatabase1 from the First Storage Group to a Recovery Storage Group, you must create a Recovery Storage Group and add the database "MailboxDatabase1" to the Recovery Storage Group.

    Note: This option is not applicable for Microsoft Exchange Server 2003

    Dismount the database before restore and mount the database after restore

    Typically before a restore, Microsoft Exchange will perform some checks to help ensure the following:

    • The database to be restored is in "Dismounted" status.
    • The database is not restored unexpectedly.

      To protect a Microsoft Exchange production database from being restored unexpectedly, a switch is added to allow the database to be overwritten during the restore process. Microsoft Exchange will refuse to restore a database if this switch is not set.

    For CA ARCserve D2D, these two options are controlled by this "Dismount the database before restore and mount the database after restore" option. With this option, CA ARCserve D2D lets you launch the restore process automatically without any manual operations. (You can also specify to dismount/mount database manually).

    • If checked, specifies that the recovery process will automatically dismount the Exchange database before the restore process and then mount the database after the restore process is completed. In addition, if checked, this option will also allow the Exchange database to be overwritten during the restore.
    • If unchecked, specifies that the recovery process will not automatically dismount the Exchange database before recovery and mount the database after recovery.

      The Exchange administrator would have to perform some manual operations such as dismount the Exchange database, set the Allow Overwrite flag on the database, and mount the Exchange database. (The recovery procedure is performed by Exchange during the mounting of the database).

      In addition, if unchecked, this option does not allow the Exchange database to be overwritten during restore.

    Restore to Recovery Database (Exchange 2010)

    Restores the database to a Recovery Database. A Recovery Database is a database that can be used for recovery purposes. You can restore a Microsoft Exchange Mailbox Database from a backup to a Recovery Database and then recover and extract data from it, without affecting the production database that is being accessed by end users.

    Before restoring an Exchange 2010 database to a Recovery Database, you must first create a Recovery Database.

    Note: This option is not applicable for Microsoft Exchange Server 2003 and 2007.

  6. Click Next.

    The Restore Summary dialog opens.

    Application Recovery - Exchange 4

  7. Review the displayed information to verify that all the restore options and settings are correct.